Book reviews · books · DNF · review

Book Review: The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown by Vaseem Khan

Ooo a sequel!perplexing

“For centuries the Koh-i-Noor diamond has set man against man and king against king. Now part of the British Crown Jewels, the priceless gem is a prize that many have killed to possess. So when the Crown Jewels go on display in Mumbai, security is everyone’s principal concern. And yet, on the very day Inspector Chopra visits the exhibition, the diamond is stolen from under his nose. Th
e heist was daring and seemingly impossible. The hunt is on for the culprits. But it soon becomes clear that only one man – and his elephant – can possibly crack this case…”

My thoughts on the first in this series, The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra were mixed. About 100 pages in I was all about ready to throw in the towel and call it quits, it was slow to start and I felt that the plot wasn’t going anywhere and the elephant had barely made any sort of appearance, let alone solve a crime. I persevered however, because I was stuck at my grans house with no internet and nothing else to do. And I ended up really loving the book, it’s charming and well thought out and a genuinely interesting read. The sequel failed to make me keep reading.

Chopra and Ganesha are back and this time there is a precious gem to find! A crown jewel heist in the middle of India was a bit of a stretch in the first place, but I went with it, you know, artistic license and stuff.

The story itself is quite engaging, it just takes ages to get anywhere, especially as the author uses devices such as long-winded flashbacks to fill us in on back story. It’s quite clunky as well, phrases like “Chopra let his memory take him back to the beginning” and “As he walked through the gates, Chopra remembered the history of the place“, these seem like really long ways of getting to some description. I guess that’s down to personal preference though.

There are corrupt cops, and incompetent cops and multi national jewel thieves and elephants! Unfortunately the pacing is just as slow in the first half of the book and this time I actually did have something else to do, so I put it down. That was 3 months ago, I don’t think I’m going to finish it. Sorry Mr Khan. DNF.

Leave a Reply

