blog · Blogalicious · books · rambling

Top 5 Halloween Reads!

Hello boys and girls, today I want to talk to you about spooooooooky Halloween reeeeaaaaaads! Mwahahahahahahah!! (did you read that in the spooky voice? Good)

It’s the time of year when everyone dusts off their cat ears, digs out the pumpkin carving kit and rips holes in their nice white sheets. Yes Halloween is here again! And this year I thought I would give you a run down of my top 5 books that I like to read this time of year, or books that just SHOULD be read at this time of year. So, without further preamble or any more ado, here they are:

1. The Night Circusnightcircus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern has been reviewed by me before, link here. Basically it’s the story of two magicians who are pitted against each other in a magical competition. They don’t know who their competition is and they don’t know the rules or how the winner is decided, just that they have to compete and the circus is their game board. It’s mystical, lyrical, poetic, atmospheric and lovely. One of my favourites this year.

2. The Raven KingThe_Raven_King_Cover_Official

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater is the final installment in The Raven Cycle series, yes you should read the rest of the series first, but that is not a bad thing, they are all great. Anyway, this is by far the creepiest and there are times when I was genuinely creeped out. I have reviewed it before, link here. The Raven Cycle follows 5 teenagers on their hunt for a dead Welsh king, who for reasons that make sense in book, is buried in Virginia, USA. They face many trials and tribulations, are helped by a bunch of psychics and pursued by demons and hit men. It’s all very grand and dark and just a really great read.

3. Slade Housesladehouse

Slade House by David Mitchell, again reviewed here, is a ghost story that is technically a companion novel to The Bone Clocks but since I haven’t read The Bone Clocks, I figure you don’t need to have read it to understand Slade House. It’s the story of a house that only appears once every 9 years and when it does a person disappears. There are a few stories within the story, all told in very different voices, David Mitchell is pretty good at that. It’s a very creepy, atmospheric tale and it gave me goosebumps.

4. The Ocean at the End of the Laneocean

Sensing a theme here, The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman has been reviewed here. It’s the story of a boy who befriends the girl from the farm down the road and is sucked into a world of magic and mayhem. It’s all very doctor who. There are witches and beings from another dimension and creepy worm things that crawl into feet. I’ll never unsee that. (even though I read it, so I guess I can’t unread it??). It’s dark and moody and very entertaining.

5. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Childrenmissperegrine

And finally… The Miss Peregrine review can be found at this location. Miss Peregrine’s is the story of a 16 year old boy who witnesses the death of his Grandfather at the hands of evil, unknown, creatures. His parents think he’s in shock and eventually take him to Wales to hunt down his Grandfather’s history and to get some closure. BUT of course things don’t turn out that way and the scary THINGS turn out to be real. There are children to save, times to be relived and a Grandfather to be avenged. There is also a film out now, directed by Tim Burton, so if that’s more your thing, check it out.

I guess non of these are going to surprise anyone who knows me, but they are all super good and you should check them out. Yeah, I know I could have suggested more of the ‘classic’ Gothic fictions, but I didn’t want to be a hypocrite; I haven’t read most of them so can’t really recommend them to people and the ones I have read didn’t overwhelm me, so I left them out.

Anyway, these are some of my favourites, if you have any suggestions for me, I’d love to hear them. Have an awesome Halloween! OoooOOooOooOoO!

Leave a Reply

