auto writing · blog · Blogalicious · books · Childrens Books · harry potter · nonsense · rambling · TBR

The 3 R’s: Reading, Rambling and Reviewing

Sorry folks, I’m stepping down my review schedule.

As I would hope you are aware, to review books, you have to read them. I was reviewing books once a week because I had a backlog of books to write about. Every time I read a book I take notes so I can reference them and use them to influence my reviews. I thought I still had, like,  4 left to review, which was good because I’m sort of in a bit of a reading slump, so I’m not adding to the pile. Turns out I was wrong. There is one book in The List. And it’s the one that caused the slump. Well it’s one of them anyway. The book is The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury and I don’t want to review it because I would basically be reiterating what I said in my review for The Girl From Everywhere; i.e. I’m bored of YA tropes. I did not finish The Sin Eater’s Daughter and after so many failed attempts to read the wonderful and interesting sounding books on my TBR pile, I was put off of reading the rest, thus the reading slump was born!

I’ve been trying to gently coax myself back out of it, I’ve re-read The Raven King (my favourite book in Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle series), then I read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (I didn’t review it because as a play it deserves a review of the whole not just the script, but if you want to know what I thought you can read it here, caution: spoilers). After that I decided to read some history and read The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank, which I enjoyed but wouldn’t feel comfortable reviewing; it’s not fiction, so I can’t review the plot. It’s written by a 14 year old as a diary, so I can’t review the writing style. It’s written by a teenager about her relatives and the people she lives with, so I can’t review characters. It’s about one of the most awful periods of human history, why would I disrespect that with my opinions? There are people on Goodreads who have moaned and moaned about various aspects of it, and I just want to ask them if they actually know this isn’t fiction? I will say this though: It made me cry, of course. What doesn’t? I watched 20 minutes of Titanic the other day and was crying like a baby.

Anyway, the point of that ramble was that I’m slowly pulling myself out of the black hole of despair that is a reading slump and will resume reviewing new* and exciting books soon, just maybe not at the rate of one-a-week for a while. I’ll keep reading and adding to The List and hopefully, before long, we’ll be back where we started in no time! In the mean time if you looking for something to read, try this one for kids (and kids at heart) or this one for adults.

Thanks for reading my drivel, you guys rock =].

*May also review old and exciting books.

Leave a Reply

