blog · Book reviews · books · rambling · review

Book Review – The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Wait… Is this the Big Bang Theory?

rosieproject

“Love isn’t an exact science – but no one told Don Tillman. A handsome 39 year old geneticist, Don’s never had a second date. So he devises The Wife Project, a scientific test to find the perfect partner. Enter Rosie – ‘the world’s most incompatible woman’ – throwing Don’s safe, ordered life into chaos. Just what is this unsettling, alien emotion he’s feeling?”

Another book that was recommended by a friend because they loved it, I like it when people do that =].

First of all, I didn’t know anything about this book when I opened it, other than people like it a lot, it’s sold very well this year and I live in the UK, so it really threw me when I read the phrase “hot January evening“. I had a long moment of staring like ‘what? how? it’s January. This makes no sense!’ then I realised it must be set in Australia. It should not have taken me that long, clearly I was just assuming it to be set in the USA and it not being was to big a shock to absorb. Bad me!

Terrible assumptions aside, this book is basically an episode of the Big Bang Theory, where Sheldon decides he needs a wife and creates a quiz to hand out and hilarity ensues. It’s funny and in parts genuinely moving, it’s Curious Incident for dating. The plot is fairly simple, but moves at a fast enough pace to remain interesting. The people are varied and Gene in particular is a total douche, I’m not convinced his wife is aware of how much though. Don is highly scientifically minded but not great with other people, Rosie is unorganised, never on time and eats a different meal every day (gasp)! They are obviously meant to be.

To be honest, this is a fairly typical chick lit novel, with a geeked out twist. It’s an easy read, it’s interesting and humourous (who keeps/why is there a lobster in the bath?) and it’s actually touching, I admit that I shed a tear or two at the end, but it’s not as great as I was led to believe. I feel bad for saying that, I’ve heard nothing but good things, it’s just not my thing. Not enough wizards I guess. I’ve given it 3 stars because I liked it, I just didn’t love it. It’s a quirky beach read with a compelling plot, perfect if you like that sort of thing.

3/5 ***

 

Leave a Reply

