blog · Book reviews · books · nonsense · rambling · review

Book Review: The Raven King – Maggie Stiefvater

Make way for the Raven King!”

It’s here guys. It’s now. It’s happening!  The final book in the Raven Cycle series has been released and it is glorious. *Mild spoiler alert. I mean, it’s nothing the author hasn’t already said, but just in case, I’m warning you now.*

The_Raven_King_Cover_Official

“For years Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one he’s drawn others into his mission: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a life; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him. Nothing dead is to be trusted. Now the endgame has begun. Nothing living is safe. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.” 

Since I’ve made a point of ripping apart the blurbs for this series I guess I should mention it. Except this one actually makes sense so I don’t want to. I guess Scholastic finally learnt?

My second most eagerly awaited book of the year (behind only The Cursed Child script) and it did not disappoint.

Right from the prologue I had feels; that is just an unfair way to start a book! And it carried on from there: at times intense and creepy, at others light and lovely this book is the ending this series deserves. There are plenty of scenes fans won’t have seen coming and a few surprise twists and turns to keep you guessing, as well as those scenes the fans have been waiting for. I won’t spoil too much but Gansey at a toga party is a true highlight.

Stiefvater is known for interacting with her fans on social media and often likes to wind them up, about plot details, about characters, about everything. On this occasion she wasn’t winding us up though, I’m sorry to report: Gansey does indeed die. And it was heart-wrenching. I’m still not over it. Also Adam does not turn into a tree. Where did that rumour even come from?

The style of the whole book is incredibly atmospheric and I was so drawn into this world that I actually read the whole thing in one night. I haven’t seen 3.30am because of a book for a long time, thanks Maggie. Everything was rounded up and packed away neatly, all the arching stories tied off and loose ends done away with. It is a spectacular end to a spectacular series and although it feels like an ending, there is also room for more in the future. I absolutely adored this book and am giving it 5 stars.

5/5 *****

Leave a Reply

