auto writing · blog · Blogalicious · books · rambling · Uncategorized

Reading Something New

It’s recently been brought to my attention that I need to read something new. Something not specifically aimed at the teenage audience. Something not fantasy (although that’s allowable if it’s adult apparently). Something different.

The person who made this audacious claim, who shall remain nameless because I don’t want them to think they were right and get ideas above their station, has a point. I have recently found myself reading the same things, I found a genre or an author I like and I stuck to it. My recent ‘read’ list includes most of the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, all three Raven Cycle books by Maggie Steivfater, Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices series and the entire Maze Runner series by James Dashner. It’s definitely time for a change.

And so, dear readers, I have issued myself a challenge, and I encourage you all to do the same: change things up. Read one book that’s completely different to what you’d normally choose. Mix genres. New Authors. Go WILD! It’ll be fun, I promise. This nameless acquaintance actually sent me a challenge: stand in a library, spin around with your eyes closed and point. Whichever book you’re pointing at, you have to read. Great!

I didn’t do that. Who would do that? What a crazy idea, not only would you look really stupid spinning in the middle of a bookshop, but I’d probably end up reading Mein Camf or 50 Shades or something equally horrific. I did the sensible option, I BROWSED and found a lovely looking book about a police officer in Mumbai. Murder. Elephants. India. Definitely new material for me. It’s next on my reading list and I shall review in due course. I still have to finish Winter first… *sigh*

Leave a Reply

